- In 1987, the Nansen Academy was awarded the Freedom of Expression Foundation Prize.

- In 1998, the Academy received Honourable Mention of the UNESCO Prize for Peace Education, in recognition of its contribution to the promotion of peace and tolerance.

- Senior Advisor of the Nansen Dialogue Network, Steinar Bryn and previous Director of the Nansen Academy, Inge Eidsvåg received Amalie Laksov’s Fund for the Protection of Human Rights in 1999.

- Steinar Bryn received the Bridge-builder Prize 2004 for his contribution to confidence-building. Inge Eidsvåg received Blanche Major's Reconciliation Prize in 2005.

Steinar Bryn and the Nansen Dialogue Network were nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize 2009.